Seven data-related key issues


ANALYSING THE DAILY TOTAL DEATHS COUNT. Daily counting of deaths by COVID-19, number and accumulation, makes it possible to follow the trend and pace of the epidemics (slowing down, acceleration, plateau, peak, trough). Time or international perspective exercises must be conducted with caution: the data published in each country are derived from specific collection systems.

PROVIDING WELL-DOCUMENTED DATA. The aim of the INED website on mortality by COVID-19 is to disseminate the data published by different countries (by sex and age) The data on this site are enriched by detailed information on their sources (metadata).

HIGHLIGHTING DATA POTENTIALS AND LIMITS. The aim of the INED website is also to highlight their potential, while drawing attention to their specificities, differences and shortcomings to be avoided when using them. Based on these data and metadata, we illustrate here seven data-related key issues.

1. DEATHS’ OCCURENCE, REGISTRATION, PUBLICATION:
The publication of a death by health monitoring agencies is not immediate
. Electronic platform systems speed up publication but are not always widespread. What then is the cumulative total of deaths reported on a daily basis? Neither all nor only the deaths of the day.
Continued

2. DEATHS IN HOSPITALS, IN INSTITUTIONS, AT HOME:
The share of deaths in hospital, at home and in institutions for the elderly varies from country to country; the process and speed of registration of deaths may vary according to the place. Some country counts are thus limited to information from one main channel. So what is the actual coverage of reported deaths? Total, partial, representative, selected...
Continued

3. DEATH BY COVID-19 OR BT ANOTHER CAUSE:
The cause of death can be attributed to COVID-19 following biological tests, c clinical diagnosis, or if the infection is mentioned on the death certificate. From one country to another, the counting of deaths by COVID-19 is based on different criteria for identifying the cause: confirmed or suspected COVID, indirect effects of COVID.
Continued

4. DATING THE BEGINNING OF THE EPIDEMICS:
As the pandemic has not affected all countries at the same time, one of the first recommendations is to align the curves with dates corresponding to the beginning of the epidemic; how can this date be established? We can rely on the cumulative number of COVID deaths, while waiting for a critical number.
Continued

 

5. MAGNITUDE AND DYNAMICS:
Data on daily mortality by COVID-19 helps to understand the dynamics: in the short term to act and in the longer term to prevent and organize. We see similar steps from one country to another, but also specificities. It is necessary to be able to assess the differences that are related to the data and their representativeness (coverage) and those related to country-specific demographic structures and organisations.
Continued

6. COUNTRIES AND/OR THEIR REGIONS FACING THE EPIDEMIC:
The
varying size of populations undoubtedly has an impact on the number of deaths: but it is not the entire population of a country that has been at risk. The pandemic acts by outbreaks like fires; barrier measures are needed to contain its spread, inducing varying exposures within countries. This question is essential for those who wish to estimate the risks of mortality and lethality.
Continued

7. ADDRESSING DISPARITIES ACCORDING TO AGE AND GENDER:
Given the vulnerability of older people to this virus, the age structure of populations in different countries plays a determining role in the number of deaths. Differences in sex and age in the different places where death occurs is also imprtant for the analyses. Deaths by COVID-19 are concentrated at older ages and affect men more than women. But there are differences between countries.
Continued

Sept points de réflexion sur les données


ANALYSER LE CUMUL DES DÉCÈS JOURNALIERS. Le comptage journalier des décès par COVID-19, nombre et cumul, permet de suivre la tendance et le rythme de l’épidémie (ralentissement, accélération, plateau, pic, creux). Les exercices de mise en perspective temporelle ou internationale doivent être conduits avec prudence : les données publiées dans chaque pays sont issues de dispositifs de collecte spécifiques.

METTRE À DISPOSITION DES DONNÉES DOCUMENTÉES. L’objectif du site de l’INED sur la mortalité par COVID-19 est de rediffuser les données publiées par différents pays (par sexe et âge). Les données de ce site sont enrichies par des informations détaillées sur leurs sources (métadonnées).

ÉCLAIRER LE POTENTIEL ET LES LIMITES DES DONNÉES.  L’objectif du site de l’INED est aussi de mettre en valeur le potentiel, tout en attirant l’attention sur leurs spécificités, leurs différences, et les écueils à éviter lors de leur utilisation. A partir de ces données et des métadonnées, nous illustrons ici sept points  de réflexion, essentiels à l’analyse de ces données.

1. SURVENUE, ENREGISTREMENT, PUBLICATION DES DÉCÈS :
La publication d’un décès par les agences de surveillance sanitaire n’est pas immédiate
. Les systèmes de plateformes électroniques accélèrent la publication mais ne sont pas toujours généralisés. À quels décès correspond alors le total cumulé des décès annoncé quotidiennement ? Ni totalement, ni seulement aux décès du jour...
Suite

2. DÉCÈS A L’HÔPITAL, EN INSTITUTIONS, À DOMICILE :
La part des décès à l’hôpital, à domicile, en établissement pour personnes âgées varie d’un pays à l’autre ; les remontées des décès peuvent varier selon les lieux de décès. Certains décomptes se limitant à l’information issue d’un canal principal. Dès lors, quelle est la couverture réelle des décès annoncés ? Totale, partielle, représentative, sélectionnée...

Suite

3. DÉCÈS PAR COVID-19 OU PAR UNE AUTRE CAUSE :
La cause du décès peut être attribuée au COVID-19 à la suite de différents tests biologiques, d’un diagnostic clinique, ou si l’infection est mentionnée sur le certificat de décès… D’un pays à l’autre, le décompte des décès par COVID-19 est établi sur des critères différents d’identification de la cause : COVID confirmé, supposé, indirectement lié au COVID...
Suite

4. DATER LE DÉBUT DE L’ÉPIDÉMIE
La pandémie n’ayant pas touché les pays au même moment, une des premières recommandations est d’aligner les courbes sur des dates correspondant au début de l’épidémie ; comment établir cette date ? On peut s’appuyer sur le cumul de décès COVID, en attendant un nombre critique de décès.
Suite

 

5. AMPLEUR ET DYNAMIQUE :
Les données journalières de mortalité par COVID-19 aident à comprendre les dynamiques
: à court terme pour agir et à plus long terme pour prévenir et organiser : on y voit des étapes similaires d’un pays à l’autre, mais aussi des spécificités. Il faut pouvoir évaluer ce qui relève des différences liées aux données et à leur représentativité (couverture) et ce qui relève des différences structurelles et organisationnelles.

Suite

6. LES PAYS ET/OU LEURS RÉGIONS FACE A L’ÉPIDÉMIE :
La taille variable des populations
a sans aucun doute un impact sur le nombre de décès : mais ce n’est pas l’ensemble de la population d’un pays qui a été soumise au risque. La pandémie agit par foyers comme les incendies ; les mesures barrières permettant d’en contenir la propagation, induisent une variation de l’exposition des populations au sein des pays. Cette question est essentielle pour qui souhaite estimer les risques de mortalité et de létalité.

Suite

7. TENIR COMPTE DES DISPARITÉS SELON L’ÂGE ET LE SEXE :
Compte tenu de la vulnérabilité des plus âgés à ce virus, la structure par âge des populations des différents pays joue un rôle déterminant sur les nombres de décès. Les différences de couverture des remontées des décès par sexe et âge doivent être prises en considération lors des analyses. Les décès par covid-19 se concentrent aux grands âges et concernent plus les hommes que les femmes. Mais on constate des différences entre pays.
Suite