1. Date of deaths’ occurence, registration, publication


The publication of a death by health monitoring agencies is not immediate. Four stages can be described, with each death having four possible dates: (i) the date of occurrence, (ii) the date of notification to the civil registry, (iii) the date of notification to the health agencies, and (iv) the date of publication. For example, in France, the legal deadline for declaring a death (step ii.) is 24 hours after its occurrence. In many countries, notification to health agencies is done in two stages. In the first stage, the death is notified to a regional agency, which in turn notifies a national agency.

Electronic platform systems are used to speed up the publication, for example in some hospitals; but these systems are not always generalised to all structures in the same country and do not always cover deaths in social and health institutions or at home.

It should therefore be remembered that the cumulative total of deaths reported daily by the countries only partially corresponds to the cumulative total of deaths that have occurred to date. In fact, "new announced deaths" do not represent all deaths in the last 24 hours, due to the process of transmitting the information, nor only deaths in the last 24 hours: new announced deaths include (1) the part of the day’s deaths that are already reported in the information system; (2) deaths that occurred in previous days, which have been progressively reported in the information system. Some countries, such as Denmark or the Netherlands, provide a daily correction of the previous daily totals, re-assining late reported deaths (see data provided for these two countries).

In Denmark it seems that an average of between twenty and thirty deaths are added to the daily total after a fortnight: the cumulative total of deaths on April 3rd was initially 139 deaths, and reached 170 deaths on April 21st , i.e. an additional 31 deaths were reassigned to April 3rd each following day (Figure 1.1).

While this update is important when looking at the daily dynamics of deaths in the different phases of the epidemic, it will probably not be possible to correct this information in a systematic way for all countries until the end of the epidemic. At this stage, the dynamics are approximations; the margin for correction depends on the delays in the registration and publication of deaths at the national level by health agencies.

Deaths publication in France

COVID-19: How are deaths counted in France?
("The conversation" Pison, Meslé)

Figure 1.1 Progressive update of daily total deaths counts with the progressive reassigned of deaths by COVID-19 (Denmark April 21st)

@@titre@@

"Data and metadata" - Source : Statens Serum Institut

1. Survenue, enregistrement, publication des décès


La publication d’un décès par les agences de surveillance sanitaire n’est pas immédiate. On peut décrire quatre étapes, chaque décès étant donc associé à quatre dates possibles : (i) celle de la survenue, (ii) celle de la déclaration à l’état civil, (iii) celle de la notification aux agences sanitaires et, enfin, (iv) celle de la publication. Par exemple, en France, le délai légal pour déclarer un décès (étape ii.) est de 24 heures après sa survenue. Dans de nombreux pays, la notification aux agences sanitaires se fait en deux étapes. Au cours de la première étape, le décès est notifié à une agence régionale, qui à son tour le notifie à une agence nationale.

Les systèmes de plateformes électroniques permettent d’accélérer la publication, par exemple dans certains hôpitaux ; mais ces systèmes ne sont pas toujours généralisés à l’ensemble des structures d’un même pays et ne couvrent pas les décès dans des établissements socio-sanitaires ou à domicile.

Il convient donc de rappeler que le total cumulé des décès annoncés quotidiennement par les institutions de chaque pays ne correspond que partiellement au total cumulé des décès survenus ce jour. En fait, les « nouveaux décès annoncés » ne représentent pas tous les décès des 24 dernières heures, en raison du processus de transmission de l’information, ni seulement des décès des dernières 24 heures : les nouveaux décès annoncés comprennent (1) la partie des décès du jour qui sont déjà reportés dans le système d’information ; (2) les décès survenus les jours précédents, qui ont été progressivement reportés dans le système d’information. Certains pays, comme le Danemark ou les Pays-Bas, fournissent une correction quotidienne des totaux journaliers précédents, en réaffectant les décès signalés tardivement (voir les données fournies pour ces deux pays).

Au Danemark il semble qu’entre vingt et trente décès en moyenne s’ajoutent au cumul quotidien au bout d’une quinzaine de jours : le cumul des décès au 3 avril qui était de 139 décès atteint au 21 avril 170 décès, soit 31 supplémentaires qui ont été récupérés chaque jour (Figure 1.1).

Si cette mise à jour est importante lorsqu’on s’intéresse à la dynamique quotidienne des décès dans les différentes phases de l’épidémie, il ne sera probablement pas possible de corriger ces informations de manière systématique pour tous les pays avant la fin de l’épidémie. À ce stade, les dynamiques sont des approximations ; la marge de correction dépend des délais dans l’enregistrement et la publication des décès au niveau national par les agences sanitaires.

Publication des décès en France

Comment la France compte-t-elle ses morts ?
("The conversation" Pison, Meslé)

Figure 1.1 Mise à jour progressive des cumuls de décès quotidiens danois (au 21 avril)

@@titre@@

"Données et métadonnées" - Source : Statens Serum Institut