An unprecedented context of health crisis

INED is working to make international data on deaths related to COVID-19 documented and detailed by sex and age groups freely available.

Measuring the magnitude of the crisis

In the context of this unprecedented health crisis, an important objective is to be able to monitor the development of the pandemic. Many countries have made available daily counts of deaths by COVID-19. To go further, demography has the tools to assess coverage and comparability of data across countries for accurate trend analysis.

A statistical challenge

Countries are seeking the best and "almost-immediate" coverage for deaths attributable to COVID-19. But the collections, carried out through specific observation systems, have different coverage. Three key elements are likely to have an impact on the country counts and thus play on the differences observed: the place of death (home, institutions for the elderly, hospitals); the lag of data transmission to the national system; and the identification of the cause of death (metadata).

Delivery of deaths by COVID-19 by age group and sex

On this site, data are provided for Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Spain (and other countries will be added soon).. These data are taken from the official statistics provided daily by the countries. We endeavour to:

  • Qualify the data source used. In order to carry out reliable comparative analyses between countries, this site documents how the data were collected and the fields covered (total deaths, deaths occurring in hospital only), as well as their dates. A distinction must be made between date of death, administrative or health declaration and publication in public reports. Each day, the cumulative number of deaths by COVID-19 increases by the number of deaths occurring on the previous days for which the information was published that day.
  • Provide details by sex and age. Due to the greater vulnerability of older people and men to COVID-19, significant differences in population structures from one country to another affect the number of deaths. Where possible, we provide detailed data. They can sometimes cover different fields (deaths in hospital, in any places...).

Interpreting cross-country differences

We invite readers to refer to the methodological sheets made available for each country (Metadata). The increased coverage of data collection will allow a better understanding of the dynamics as the weeks go by. he datasets, their potential and specificities are presented through different examples (Key Issues).

 

 

Website team

  • Operational team: Magali Barbieri, Carlo Giovanni Camarda, Emmanuelle Cambois, Arianna Caporali, Jenny Garcia, François  Herrmann, France Meslé, Svitlana Poniakina, Jean-Marie Robine, Catalina Torres
  • Editorial board: Magda Tomasini, Cris Beauchemin, Carlo Giovanni Camarda, Emmanuelle Cambois, Arianna Caporali, Mathilde Charpentier, Aline Désesquelles, Jenny Garcia, Myriam Khlat, France Meslé, Gilles Pison, Jean-Marie Robine, Xavier Thierry et Laurent Toulemon

Get the data

Data available for Austria, Belgium, England and Wales, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Spain, United States of America (and other countries will be added soon).

DATA AND METADATA
AUS BEL ENG- W DEN
FRA GER ITA NET
NOR POR R-K  SPA 
USA      

 

7 key issues

Important to know

COVID-19 related deaths : a comparative analysis

@@titre@@

Comparison of the COVID pandemics in 6 countries by François Robin-Champigneul

Brief memo, May 16
Detailled note (method, data), 5 April

Un contexte de crise sanitaire inédit


L’Ined se mobilise pour mettre à disposition en libre accès des données internationales sur les décès liés au COVID-19 documentées et détaillées par sexe et groupes d’âges.

Mesurer l’ampleur de la crise.

Dans ce contexte de crise sanitaire inédit, un des objectifs importants est de pouvoir surveiller le développement de la pandémie. De nombreux pays mettent à disposition le décompte journalier des décès par COVID-19. Pour aller plus loin, la démographie dispose des outils d’évaluation de la couverture et de la comparabilité des données entre les pays, pour une analyse précise des tendances.

Un défi statistique

Les pays cherchent à couvrir au mieux et de manière « quasi-immédiate » les décès attribuables au COVID-19.  Mais les collectes, effectuées via des dispositifs d’observation spécifiques, ont des couvertures différentes. Trois éléments-clés sont susceptibles d’impacter les décomptes des pays et donc de jouer sur les différences observées : le lieu du décès (domicile, établissements pour personnes âgées, hôpitaux) ; le délai de la remontée ; l’identification de la cause du décès (méta-données).

La mise à disposition des données de décès par sexe et par âge

Sur ce site, des données sont fournies pour l’Allemagne, Danemark, Espagne, France, Italie, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Portugal, République de Corée (d’autres pays prochainement). Ces données sont issues des statistiques officielles délivrées quotidiennement par les pays. Nous nous attachons à :

  • Qualifier la source des données utilisée. Pour procéder à des analyses comparatives fiables entre les pays, ce site documente le mode de recueil des données et les champs couverts (total des décès, décès survenus en milieu hospitalier uniquement), ainsi que leur date. Il faut bien distinguer date du décès, de la déclaration administrative ou sanitaire et de la publication dans les rapports publics. Chaque jour, le nombre cumulé de décès par COVID-19 s’accroit par les décès survenus les jours précédents pour lesquels l’information a été publiée ce jour.
  • Fournir un détail par sexe et âge. Du fait d’une plus grande vulnérabilité des plus âgés et des hommes face au COVID-19, les différences notables dans les structures des populations d’un pays à l’autre jouent sur le nombre de décès. Nous fournissons lorsque cela est possible, les données détaillées. Elles peuvent parfois couvrir des champs différents (décès hospitaliers, tous lieux…).

Interpréter les différences entre pays

Nous invitons les lecteurs à se référer aux fiches méthodologiques mises à disposition pour chaque pays (Métadonnées) La montée en charge des remontées et de leur couverture permettra, au fil des semaines, une meilleure compréhension des dynamiques. Les données, leur potentiel et leurs spécificités sont présentés à travers différents exemples (L’essentiel).


L’équipe du site

  • L’équipe opérationnelle : Magali Barbieri, Carlo Giovanni Camarda, Emmanuelle Cambois, Arianna Caporali, Jenny Garcia, François Herrmann, France Meslé, Svitlana Poniakina, Jean-Marie Robine, Catalina Torres
  • Le comité éditorial : Magda Tomasini, Cris Beauchemin, Carlo Giovanni Camarda, Emmanuelle Cambois, Arianna Caporali, Mathilde Charpentier, Aline Désesquelles, Jenny Garcia, Myriam Khlat, France Meslé, Gilles Pison, Jean-Marie Robine, Xavier Thierry et Laurent Toulemon

Accéder aux données

Données disponibles pour l’Allemagne, Angleterre et Pays de Galles, Autriche, Belgique, Danemark, Espagne, États-Unis d’Amérique, France, Italie, Norvège, Pays-Bas, Portugal, République de Corée (d’autres pays prochainement).

DONNÉES ET MÉTADONNÉES
ALL ANG-G AUT BEL
DAN ESP E-U-A FRA
ITA NOR P-B POR
R-C      

Les décès par COVID-19 : une analyse comparative

@@titre@@

Comparaison du développement de l’épidémie par François Robin-Champigneul

Brève, 16 mai
Note détaillée (méthode, données), 5 avril